Admin Login

Awards Presentation and Celebration Dinner for 2017

By Kristina Thu 8th Feb

Senior Award winners (from left) Orlaigh McNamee, Senior Ladies Football Player of the Year, Connor O’Donnell, Senior Mens Football Player of the Year, Bradley Fox, Reserve Mens Football Player of the Year and Padraig Leonard, Senior Hurling Player of the Year, receive their 2017 trophies from senior manager Paddy Crozier and senior hurling manager Donal Lagan

A huge crowd attended our highly successful ‘Night of Champions’ Awards evening in the Silverbirch Hotel last night where they celebrated the 2017 successes of our Senior and Reserve footballers as well as our All-Ireland Scór Set Dancing team.

A number of player awards were also made on the night which was hosted by MC Mark Sidebottom of BBC.

A special thank you also to Kieran Kennedy of O’Neills who as well as presenting medals to our senior footballers also kindly donated club beanie hats to all those in attendance.

Monsignor Donnelly and Club President for 2018 Desmond McClements present outgoing Club President Kieran Young with his Presidents Medal

Members also welcomed in a new club President for 2018, Desmond McClements, who was acknowledged for over 50 years of service to the club as a committee member, a member of the inaugural Park Committee which overseen the development of Healy Park from 1967 to 1972, hurling and camogie coach, bus driver and official groundsman.

Desmond succeeded another club stalwart Kieran Young who fulfilled the role of President in 2017.

Club Person of the Year was Paul Meldrum who just recently completed five terms as Treasurer

2017 All-Ireland Scór Set Dancing team (from left) Damien Friel, Leanne McCullagh, David Tierney, Courtney McAskie, Mary Colton (Mentor), Paul Breen, Michelle McGlynn and Ciarán Breen. Missing from photo Gráinne Fox.

Connor O’Donnell the Senior Footballer of the Year, Presented with his award by Club Chairman Paul Breen

Senior Hurler of the Year Padraig Leonard and Young Hurler of the Year Ciaran Lagan receive their awards from Club Secretary Conor Sally, Senior Hurling Manager Donal Lagan and Club Chairman Paul Breen

Senior Ladies Footballer of the Year Orlaigh McNamee, Dedicated Ladies Footballer Hanna Devlin and Young Ladies Footballer of the Year Sophie Kelly receive their award from Club Secretary Conor Sally and Club Chairman Paul Breen 

The Future – Young Mens Footballer of the Year Aidan Clarke with Young Hurler of the Year Ciaran Lagan and Young Ladies Footballer of the Year Sophie Kelly

Young Achiever of the Year Ciarán Breen presented with his trophy by his father Club Chairman Paul Breen

Rosemary Carson and Sinead Duddy who were recognised along with Rachael Mallon and Tracy Monaghan for their achievements in helping the club secure official Healthy Club status, are pictured with outgoing President Kieran Young and Chairman Paul Breen.

By Kristina Thu 8th Feb

Related News

Main Sponsor

Proud to be part of