Admin Login

St. Enda’s members urged to help make 2015 another successful year

By Kristina Wed 21st Jan

Top table...Secretary Paul Breen, Chairman John McElholm and Treasurer Paul Meldrum prepare to deliver their AGM reports

Top table…Secretary Paul Breen, Chairman John McElholm and Treasurer Paul Meldrum prepare to deliver their AGM reports

ST ENDA’S members were in jubilant form at Tuesday evening’s Annual General Meeting as they reflected on an historic and highly successful 2014 season.

With seven trophies on display in the clubrooms and an array of Scór successes in the bag, it was hardly surprising that the general mood amongst members was buoyant as club chairman John McElholm paid tribute to the players, management, sponsors and supporters for their role in securing success for the club last year.

With the O’Neill Cup in prime position for the first time in 26 years along with Reserve League, U21 championship, Ladies Intermediate League and Championship and U14 hurling title, along with an All-Ireland Scór trophy, John said that he was astounded by the success achieved and the challenge now was to retain many of the titles in 2015 and continue building for the future.

He said that the first ever appearance by the seniors in the Ulster Club final was a memorable journey. “At last year’s AGM I said that the ‘Time is Now’ and thankfully this team delivered. A series of tense games, where the never-say-die attitude shone through, culminated in the victory over Carrickmore on the 28th September, witnessing scenes of unbridled joy and relief for many involved,” he added.

Reflecting on the Ulster campaign which resulted in wins over Crossmaglen and St. Eunan’s, before a minimum loss to Slaughtneil in the final, John acknowledged the work of all the players and management throughout the year.

“I have been around this team for 7-8 years and I know the effort that has went in by all over the years. This success didn’t happen by accident. It took hard work and commitment by all involved – the bottom line is that we earned this and we deserved this victory in 2014. The challenge now is to retain the O’Neill Cup in 2015,” said John.

The O'Neill Cup and other trophies take pride of place at the AGM

The O’Neill Cup and other trophies take pride of place at the AGM

Also paying tribute to the success of the Reserve team which won the league, the ladies team which won the Intermediate League and Championship double, the All-Ireland winning Scór Ballard team and the U14 hurlers who secured the club’s first hurling title in 20 years, the chairman said he was ‘astounded by the successes achieved’ in 2014 and encouraged members to keep working in unison for the development of the club in 2015 and beyond.

John also thanked and paid tribute to all the coaches and club volunteers who worked in all areas of activities including those working behind the scenes to secure funding for future developments at Healy Park including the Ball Wall and main hall refurbishment. He also encouraged the general membership to come forward and offer their support for any schemes including those with expertise in the areas of fund raising and procurement.

Prior to the election of officers, John also paid tribute to some of the outgoing committee who were not standing for election in 2015, namely Coaching Officer Joe McMahon, Development Officer Martin Lynch and PRO Dominic McClements.

Members were also presented with a comprehensive 52-page report by Secretary Paul Breen which catalogued all the club’s activities throughout the year. Paul admitted that at the beginning of the season no-one could have imagined how successful 2014 would actually turn out for St. Enda’s and he paid tribute to everyone who contributed to the success.

“We are indebted as always to the many volunteers who continue to contribute so tirelessly to the running of the club and on behalf of the Executive Committee and the wider membership, I extend a huge thank you to the many volunteers, whether it be in coaching, stewarding, shops, fundraising, caretaker, groundsmen, bar stewards, officials, umpires, linesmen, tea ladies, sandwich makers, programme sellers and ticket sellers.

“The Club trusts you can continue to help out again next year, as without you, the club would simply not exist,” added Paul.

A detailed finance report for the year was delivered by Treasurer Paul Meldrum who urged members to continue their great support for fund raising events throughout the year as the financial demands for running a complex club structure like St. Enda’s was significant.

A number of club officials were returned unopposed but there are a number of new faces on the Omagh committee for 2015 with Eamon McMullan elected to vice-chairman, Conor Sally to Assistant Secretary, Ciaran McDaid to Youth Officer and Liam Grugan as Coaching Officer. There is also a father and son combination on the committee with James Mullan appointed as the new PRO to accompany his father Kevin who is Assistant Treasurer.

The outgoing President Joe Mulryan congratulates his successor John O'Neill at Tuesday's AGM

The outgoing President Joe Mulryan congratulates his successor John O’Neill at Tuesday’s AGM

The 2015 Omagh Committee is:

President – John O’Neill, Chairman – John McElholm, Vice-Chairman – Eamon McMullan, Secretary – Paul Breen, Asst Secretary – Conor Sally, Treasurer – Paul Meldrum, Asst Treasurer – Kevin Mullan, Registrar – Vicky O’Hagan, Childrens’ Officers – Peter Clarke & Tracy Monaghan, PRO – James Mullan, Cultural Officer – David Tierney, Youth Officer – Ciarán McDaid, Ladies Football Officer – Paddy Hunter, Coaching Officer – Liam Grugan, Health & Well-being Officer – Tracy Monaghan, Players Rep – Connor O’Donnell, County Committee – Seamus Hannigan, Property Officer – Michael McCarney, Entertainment Officers – Alison McElhatton & Vinny McCullagh, Bingo co-ordinator – Andy McAleer, Lotto co-ordinator – Jeremy Devlin.

The following positions will be confirmed by the incoming committee – Development Officer, Senior Football Officer, Referees Administrator

Club membership for 2015 is now open for Adult members. You can download an application form here and return it to Registrar Vicky O’Hagan or other club officer asap.

Youth Registration Day is scheduled for Saturday 31st January from 10am to 12noon in the clubrooms. All newcomers are welcome for the year ahead. Download a registration form here.

By Kristina Wed 21st Jan

Related News

Main Sponsor

Proud to be part of